Riders years of experience

Charles Oertel's picture

Hi, I'm the webmaster of this site, and the lucky owner of 'Mr. Badger'. I started with Brenda Buttercup when I got her for a song when I mentioned to a friend that I was in the market for a bigger scooter to replace my 150cc Vespa. At first I didn't want her, thinking that BMW bikes must be just like their cars - common. How wrong was I... Brenda and I did the Anysberg trip in 2005, and we did the introduction to off-road rider training at Zevenwacht, and Julie and I and Brenda had a threesome at the ''Intro to offroad rider with pillion training''. Brenda Buttercup: In the Tankwa Karoo reserveBrenda Buttercup: In the Tankwa Karoo reserve I have been married 27 years, and have two sons - 26 and 29 years old.

I sold Brenda to my eldest when I got Mr.Badger - a beautiful blue and white 2003 R1150GS - in 2007/8. Now my wife Julie owns Brenda and we do trips together. Mr.Badger at Klipbokkop: This is the jumping on the advanced courseMr.Badger at Klipbokkop: This is the jumping on the advanced course

Mr.Badger is a bike among men. I have done the intermediate and advanced offroad courses with him, and practise skills challenges and allsorts. If I drop him, he just lands on his tappet-cover protectors, waits for me to pick him up, then shakes the sand out of his pelt. He has over 230 000km on the clock and is still going strongly (though he has taken up smoking recently wink). Bunny HopBunny Hop

Training

I am the first person to have completed every one of the courses provided by Country Trax and I was awarded a certificate for this honour, as well as a complimentary training course. I believe that regular training and courses are essential to maintaining your riding skills and improving your safety on a bike.

Warren Ellwood's picture
I was one of those lucky enough to be have motorcycles when I was young, eventually taking part in moto X, enduro's and even a few months on a RD350 trying my hand at road racing. When I went to the army in 87, that was it, no more bikes until 2006 when I decided to buy 2 x TW200's to get back into biking. These soon turned into BMW650's and since then, mine has turned into a 800GS.
Tony's picture

I'm an IT Architect. Married to Adrienne - "retired" teacher, now home exec. Enjoy single day, weekend and multi-day offroad trips.

zebra's picture
Chris, 50 years old, last rode a Honda CG125 in High School - the same model that that delivery drivers could not break, Thankfully, mine had no 'chemist' box on the back! then a Dakar, then an 800 GS, and now an 1150 GS; the best bike BMW ever made?

52yrs old. Real Estate Agent @ Remax in greater Blaauwerg area.

Bruce Bell, 59 years old. Like camping and the outdoors. Have three daughters and one granddaughter. Trade from Redhill Pottery out towards Cape Point so if in the area pop in for coffee. Have done the introductory and Intermediate corse at Country Trax.

Trygve Roberts's picture
Although I am not a biker as such, I have a lot to do with the 'sport'. I run the Mountain Passes South Africa site and would like to share some of the amazing passes of SA with the club.
adrian alvarez's picture

Hi,

My name is Adrian Alvarez, I'm Argentine, married and with two beautiful little boys.

Moved to SA about 4 years ago and recently relocated from Joburg to Stellenbosch. 

My first bike was a the F800GS 30 years anniversary back in 2010. Had to sell the bike after a few months. After a year I had the opportunity to buy a bike again and I decided to go for a Yamaha Fazer 1000 Sport which I had for almost 3 years. In 2014 when my eldest son was born I decided to sell the bike telling myself that I had to be a responsible father " ;)  this lasted about 3 months and then I bought a small Honda Tornado 250 ( I couldn't be without a bike anymore) and 3 months afterwards I sold it because me and my family were relocating to South Africa.

In 2017 I was blessed with the opportunity to buy a bike and I decided to go back to the first love (BMW) and I was able to afford my dream bike (R1200 GSA) and I bought the R1200 GSA triple black edition.

I'm passionate about riding and exploring the world, I had my first off-road experience last year in the GS Trophy at Badplass last year and after that I realized how much I enjoy off-road riding so I did an intermediate off-road riding course with Jo Rust that help me to improve my riding skills. 

I would love to explore the beautiful western cape with a nice group of people which I'm looking forward to meet through the BMW community here in the WC.

Looking forward to meeting you all soon.

Kind regards,

Adrian Alvarez

Garth Hewitt's picture
Hi, I'm Garth (36) and stay in Brackenfell. I work as the Advertising Manager of TygerBurger, City Vision and People's Post community newspapers in Tygervalley and we serve the Cape Peninsula with 720 000 newspapers delivered weekly free of charge to the households. I'm fairly new to biking and decided on a BMW 1200GS in 2010. This was my 1st ever experience with a bike. I have just more than 6 years experience on the GS now and have done about 60 000km since I bought the bike. I have also done an intro to off-road course at Country Trax where Johan Olivier from Wild@Heart was our instructor. Have done a few interesting trips through the Cederberge (it stays my favourite), Wupperthal/Eselsbank/Clanwilliam, Tankwa Karoo to Sutherland, Merweville, Moordenaarskaroo, Stanford/Tesselaarsdal, Van Wyksdorp/Ladismith/Herbertsdale, Gamkapoortdam, Seweweekspoort and the gravel roads in the Stillbay/Riversdale area to name a few. Have also done a few trips with the club to Calitzdorp, Vleiland and Malgas. Recently joined the club on the annual roadies tour to the Eastern Transvaal. I love social media, reading, riding my bike, camping and photography. Recently got married on my wife Yolandi's 30th birthday. She is on a silver 2008 BMW R1200GS and she is also a club member with more than 10 years biking experience. In December 2014 we became parents to Oliver, our son.
TheoFS's picture

Adventure spirit and exploration is my forte! 2004 R1150R Rockster, 2008 R1200GS, 2015 R1200GSA LC, 1976 R60/6

Greetings. I love riding my bike although nowadays its become more of a commuter than a weekend toy. I am hoping to get back to riding my bike off the beating track when time allows for it between sport and family.

Born & Bred in Paarl. Love Outdoors/Nature, Camping, Photography, Cycling/Biking. Evangelism/Lay Preacher / Community Activities on Farms. Married, Children. Ham / Amateur Radio

DirkR's picture
CTO in enterprise mobility, java architect, adventurer, motorcyclist, sports enthusiast
Mwendo's picture

My name is Cecil Hill, married to Celesta, resident in the Helderberg (Strand), parents of two young adult daughters.

 

Francois Vivier's picture
Having had a BMW K100RT previously I have not owned a BMW for quite a number of years. I have been commuting on a daily basis with a small Japanese bike, but recently bought my dream bike, a 2012 F800GS. I look forward to learning a lot from this site and its members.
PhilipF's picture
I am a lawyer by trade, working in the labour law sector. I live in the Southern Suburbs with Helene and three dogs. I decided to buy a dual purpose bike about two years ago and opted for the G650GS to learn how to fall. I have done so a few times.

Liability

Motorsport is inherently dangerous.  As per paragraph 9 of the club constitution, the club shall not be held liable for any loss, injury or death of any member or guest, howsoever arising.

The BMW Motorrad Club Cape cannot be held responsible or liable in any way for any actions or decisions you make as a result of the information posted on this site.  Although this site is enabled and used by the BMW Motorrad Club Cape, posts are made by members, non-members, advertisers and guests and none of it is vetted by the club before posting.  This is the internet and Africa - you are responsible for yourself.

Login or Register

If you have a valid login, and enter the CAPTCHA correctly the first time, you will still get an error message about incorrect choice and unrecognised login details.  Just e-enter your login credentials, this time there will be no CAPTCHA and you will be logged on.

CAPTCHA
Just to make sure you're human!